Headmaster's Desk

Designed by Clough Williams-Ellis

Pupil's Desk's

The Causeway School opened in 1915 and closed in 1962, it was built by the Macnaghten family in memory of their father Baron Macnaghten of Runkerry and replaced the original Causeway School which had been in existence from the middle of the nineteenth century. That school existed where the 'listed' period house stands on the right hand corner as you begin to drive up to the giants causeway car park, now The Nook.  The architect who designed  the Causeway School was none other than Clough Williams-Ellis who visited these shores on several occasions. He is renowned for designing and building the picturesque and unique village of Portmeirion in Wales which featured as a backdrop to the 1960's cult television series 'The Prisoner'. He also designed the Bushmills Memorial School (Old Grammar School) situated on the Priestland Road in Bushmills. Other designs by Clough Williams-Ellis can be seen in the 'unique' conservation village of Cushendun. The design of the Causeway School originally had an open porch area which was eventually glazed, it was fine during the summer months but when the prevailing winter winds and adverse weather conditions set in it proved less practical for pupils.

      Back          

          Next